Somerset County Economic Development Commission
Somerset County
Somerset County, Maryland
SCEDC Board Members
The Somerset County Economic Development consists of 15 volunteers interested in the economic future of Somerset County. They represent a cross section of the community and are appointed to three year terms by the County Commissioners. Nominations for membership are submitted by Princess Anne (1), Crisfield (1), and the EDC (3) each year.

  • Mr. James East - Chairman of the EDC
  • Mr. Robert Maddox - Vice Chairman of EDC
  • Mr. Harry Gemmell - Treasurer of EDC
  • Mr. Jerry Barbierri - Secretary of EDC
  • Mr. Phil Riggin - Board Member
  • Ms. Carol Walston - Board Member
  • Ms. Charlotte Sterling Sharf - Board Member
  • Mr. Mahesh Brahmbhatt (Junior) - Board Member
  • Mr. Dickie Ward - Board Member
  • Mr. Dennis Williams - Board Member
  • Mr. Alex Karavasilis - Board Member
  • Mr. Bob Murphey - Board Member
  • Mr. Sandy Adkins / Ms. Laverne Johnson - Board Member
  • Mr. Jeffrey Eichelberger / Ms. Debbie Maddox - Board Member
  • Ms. Joy Strand - Board Member
  • City of Crisfield City Manager RIck Pollitt - City of Crisfield City Manager
  • Princess Anne Town Manager Debbie Hrusko - Princess Anne Town Manager
  • Mr. Doug Taylor - Somerset County Administrator
  • Senator James Mathias - Maryland State Senate
  • Delegate Charles Otto - Maryland State Delegate
  • Dr. John Gaddis - Superintendent, Somerset County School System
  • Ms. Julie Widdowson - Somerset County Tourism Director
  • Mr. Gary Pusey - Somerset County Dept. of Technical & Community Services
  • Mr. Dominick Murray - UMES Executive Director of Business & Economic Development
  • Veronique Diriker, Ph.D - UMES- Director of Development
  • Ms. Mindie Burgoyne - Program Development Specialist, DBED
The Somerset County EDC board members meet the second Thursday quarterly except for the month of July due to the J. Millard Tawes Crab and Clambake. The board meeting location, however, changes monthly. For board meeting location information, please feel free to contact the EDC office.
Somerset County